What is a multi-unit dwelling?



Council’s encourage multi-unit dwellings in higher density areas to meet present and future housing needs.



Multi-unit dwellings generally include the following:


  • Apartments and units,
  • Retirement villages,
  • Nursing homes,
  • Boarding houses,
  • Hostels and other institutional accommodation,
  • Residential development for people with special needs,
  • Aged care accommodation.


Multi-unit dwellings are also know as multiple dwellings by other planning schemes.  The preferred areas and criteria for such development vary between the Council’s. 


The criteria for a multi-unit development in Brisbane are as follows:


  • The preferred zones are the low-medium density residential (LMR), medium density (MR) and high density (HR) areas.  The site area in LMR is to be a minimum of 600m² with a minimum frontage of 17m.  In MR and HR the site area is to be a minimum of 800m² with a minimum frontage of 20m.  These minimum areas may be negotiable as we have been able to achieve a solution on lots down to 400m².
  • They may be appropriate for low density residential areas.  The site area is to be a minimum of 3,000m² with a minimum frontage of 40m.
  • They may be considered in a character area (CR) at a maximum density of 1 unit per 300m².  The site area is to be a minimum of 800m² with a minimum frontage of 20m.


In the Brisbane and Logan City Councils, proposed multi-unit dwelling developments with 10 units or less may be suitable for assessment using the RiskSMART process.  We are accredited Risksmart consultants with both Councils.


Back    Next 



We are an accredited consultant for

       RiskSMART Development Assessment

homeabout usstaff profilesservicesprojectsFAQscontact us
© 2010 Gateway Surveys

Website by Magicdust